Reviews of the Budock Vean

Here are a selection of reviews we have had from guests, collected from Trip Advisor and Booking.com

Exceptional

Exceptional

Beautiful setting and staff went over and above, really friendly and helpful

Date of stay: November 2020

Wonderful

Wonderful

We have visited the hotel over many years, in the past we booked the self catering cottages.
This time we booked Grebe, a new holiday home looking out over the golf course.
It is beautifully designed and fitted out to an exceptionally high standard.
After long coastal walks or garden visits it was so relaxing to return and sit on the first floor balcony.
We enjoyed the pool and the reflexology session was brilliant.
We also enjoyed very much the morning cruise along the Helford river from the hotel foreshore.
If you like us want to get away but isolate...Grebe is a great idea

Date of stay: October 2020

Superb

Superb

How quiet pool was, open fire by pool, hot tub, food was fantastic and service very good. Grounds and walk down to shore is beautiful. You can take a pram down there. There is also a little enclosed viewing area which is great too in bad weather

Date of stay: October 2020

Relaxing, Beautiful and Lovely Staff

Relaxing, Beautiful and Lovely Staff

We have visited the Budock Vean Hotel 3 times over the last year for spa days, lunch and cream teas. Lunch and cream teas are delicious and the spa and treatments are perfect for a relaxing 'me time'.

We visited twice in the summer where you can enjoy the gorgeous gardens down to the stunning Helford River. Recently visited over the winter during the storms but the quality of food and service with the addition of log fires made the gloomy weather go away!

I must comment mostly on the staff. Every time we visit they are very friendly so welcoming during our entire visit. From the reception, the waiting staff and the spa treatment staff the service is always 5 star. We especially love Terry keeping us there as if it was his own home. He made each of our trips that extra bit special.

We 1st visited for the Helford River Cruise where staff pointed us in the right direction.

If you're looking for a spot of lunch or a cream tea for a special treat with a spa you should visit Budock Vean!

Date of stay: March 2020

We look forward to our next visit

We look forward to our next visit

Good imaginative food, well presented and tasty. Upgraded room (not requested) very clean with excellent view over golf. Course

Date of stay: February 2020

A perfect stay

A perfect stay

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large comfy and well equipped. COVID details were managed very well. Food was great and the walk down to the river was lovely

Date of stay: February 2020

Fabulous Gourmet Weekend

Fabulous Gourmet Weekend

Well this place is very special to us .. have been coming since early 2000... and many Gourmet weekends where we have been seated with amazing people with whom we have joined year after year and have lost along the way due to death, divorce or whatever .... we have now met new friends .. such a joy and lovely concept of meeting likeminded people
Budock Vean always feels like coming home ... you relax straightaway
This was one of the best Gourmet weekends
The 7 springs wines from South Africa and the explanations were fab ... from the owners
The food was the best ever ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️so delicious... amazing .. chefs fab ...
It was a fabulous weekend and I’m still smiling
Look forward to next year and meeting up with old and new friends
Well done Budock Vean

Date of stay: November 2019

Difficult not to agree with most reviewers!

Difficult not to agree with most reviewers!

We had been advised to visit this hotel many times by many friends and we were not disappointed. Apart from the warm and friendly welcome from the moment you draw up by the main entrance, one is immediately struck by just how many of the guests are serial returners, some of whom have been coming for decades. That is one very significant testament.
Our superior room had been refurbished recently and most tastefully with a lovely view out over the conservatory, terrace and finishing hole on the golf course. A minor issue with the shower drain was tackled and resolved within minutes of being reported by the ever smiling Terry.
Rather than just repeating what many other reviewers have said so eloquently, suffice it to say that we were deeply impressed by the excellent, attentive and knowledgeable dining room staff who were never far from our side. The full English breakfast was quite the most challenging plate I have ever undertaken. It was all delicious as was every course from the extensive menus at every mealtime.
We have to single out Kas who must be fitted with some kind of ‘glass nearly empty’ warning device because no matter how many diners were present, he never allowed us to reach for the bottle. Tina, Lana and Charlotte made we first timers feel highly valued and very much at home and it was uplifting to note the delightful way in which Martin, the owner, made a point of visiting every table at least once daily.
We liked the stated dress code for dinner, but it was disappointing to see that some of the male guests clearly had no intention of abiding by the jacket rule.
The swimming pool is large and heated to a pleasant temperature as is the hot tub outside but the latter would benefit from some kind of step/ladder to assist the less mobile to enter and exit.
The 9 hole golf course was beautifully presented and every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful.
Our one and only regret is that we didn’t find this lovely haven many years ago, but we will now join the serial returners!

Date of stay: May 2019

See all reviews

See all reviews