Reviews of the Budock Vean

Here are a selection of reviews we have had from guests, collected from Trip Advisor and Booking.com

Lovely relaxing stay, well looked after by great staff and just what was needed for our first break in 12 months

Lovely relaxing stay, well looked after by great staff and just what was needed for our first break in 12 months

We enjoyed a very comfortable and relaxing stay at Budock Vean with excellent accommodation, lovely food, and friendly and professional staff in a glorious setting. Covid measures well thought out and sensibly applied. Returning soon!

Date of stay: July 2021

Absolutely wonderful

Absolutely wonderful

We stayed in one of the Holiday Homes in the grounds of the hotel. The house was perfectly designed and equipped for a family/friends group and for relaxing in the beautiful surroundings. Perfectly located for access to the hotel, pool and hotel beach. The beds were extremely comfortable. The ability to combine self-catering with all the amenities of the hotel was wonderful and really enhanced the holiday. We enjoyed paddle boarding and canoeing with Koru and walks on the coastal path with direct access from the hotel grounds. What really set this holiday apart for us was the service we received: every single member of staff we encountered was pleasant and each went out of their way to be helpful and kind. We will certainly return.

Date of stay: July 2021

Another fantastic short break

Another fantastic short break

We have been visiting Budock vean for a number of years and always had a great time (from Christmas parties to gourmet weekends). Our recent 3 night stay was a joy. Welcoming staff gorgeous rooms (we stayed in 2 ) both were comfortable and room 6 was amazing!! Both breakfast and dinner were delicious with wide choices and the covid restrictions were executed well by the friendly staff. Swimming pool and hot tub booking well organised and we always enjoy exploring the grounds and great walks from the hotel. Budock vean is a real oasis especially in these times where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. A wonderful stay and we will be back!!!

Date of stay: July 2021

Another fantastic stay at the Budock Vean

Another fantastic stay at the Budock Vean

Returned yet again to the Budock Vean Hotel and as with every other time we have had a great holiday. Where to start, a longed for break has yet again totally lived up to our expectations. The hotel is one of our favourite places in the world. Beautiful walks, gardens and a relaxed atmosphere every time. The food is just perfect and the whole Budock team go above and beyond to ensure guests enjoy their stay. Over the years we have had amazing breaks of up to a week, in all seasons, and each has been perfect. During these difficult times Martin and his team have considered the safety of guests and we have felt safe. Thank you to one and all. We cannot wait to return

Date of stay: July 2021

Cornish Staycation

Cornish Staycation

Returned home today after a one night stay at the Budock Vean. Two girlfriends and I wanted a night away locally (we all live in West Cornwall) and chose the Budock Vean. Following a great day at nearby Trebah gardens we checked in to the Hotel. ALL the staff during our stay from Reception check in/out, bar/waiting staff and room change over staff were friendly, polite and so efficient. We were also very impressed with the Covid precautions, sanitiser is everywhere and spare masks/gloves available in rooms. Food was good, cocktails delightful! Don't hesitate to book this Hotel, we will be back. Thank you.

Date of stay: June 2021

Fabulous peaceful hotel

Fabulous peaceful hotel

Perfect for a couples holiday if you like a peaceful time - cocktails - wonderful food and friendly staff. Highly recommended. The stay includes free golf as well as pool, jacuzzi and stunning grounds. There is also an excellent health spa.

Date of stay: June 2021

Very aware of covid safety for all guests

Very aware of covid safety for all guests

A wonderful 5 days spent in one of the most beautiful parts of Cornwall in a Hotel right on the Helford estuary offering great accommodation delicious meals and a staff who go above and beyond in their efforts to ensure you all have a great stay.

Date of stay: June 2021

An absolute gem

An absolute gem

Had the most wonderful stay, the hotel location is fabulous, the rooms and the bed were so comfy, the grounds are beautiful, the food is absolutely gorgeous and the staff cannot do enough for you, have waited a long time to visit as originally booked a year ago and had to move the date 3 times which was never a problem, we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2021

3 night stay

3 night stay

We have stayed before, but obviously this was the first time with latest CV19 protocols in place. All well managed, and service as good as ever. Lots of happy staff. Hotel was busy, and several large multi- generation family groups.

Date of stay: June 2021

Luxury stay on Helford River

Luxury stay on Helford River

The hotel is beautifully located in gardens running down to the Helford River. Our room was spotless and well furnished overlooking the golf course. The staff attention was first class although at times perhaps a little formal for our personal taste. The quality of food in the restaurant is top class and service very prompt. The COVID protections were the best we have ever seen.

Date of stay: June 2021

Outstanding as ever

Outstanding as ever

We four sisters come every year for our Christmas mini break (this year in June!) and the Budock Vean is sublime as ever. Beautiful and immaculate, friendly and delicious. COVID protocols are reassuring not overbearing. We’ve tried all sorts of places but nothing is like this and it never disappoints. Huge thanks to Martin and your wonderful team. Already booked for next January.

Date of stay: June 2021

Superb

Superb

How quiet pool was, open fire by pool, hot tub, food was fantastic and service very good. Grounds and walk down to shore is beautiful. You can take a pram down there. There is also a little enclosed viewing area which is great too in bad weather

Date of stay: October 2020

Relaxing, Beautiful and Lovely Staff

Relaxing, Beautiful and Lovely Staff

We have visited the Budock Vean Hotel 3 times over the last year for spa days, lunch and cream teas. Lunch and cream teas are delicious and the spa and treatments are perfect for a relaxing 'me time'.

We visited twice in the summer where you can enjoy the gorgeous gardens down to the stunning Helford River. Recently visited over the winter during the storms but the quality of food and service with the addition of log fires made the gloomy weather go away!

I must comment mostly on the staff. Every time we visit they are very friendly so welcoming during our entire visit. From the reception, the waiting staff and the spa treatment staff the service is always 5 star. We especially love Terry keeping us there as if it was his own home. He made each of our trips that extra bit special.

We 1st visited for the Helford River Cruise where staff pointed us in the right direction.

If you're looking for a spot of lunch or a cream tea for a special treat with a spa you should visit Budock Vean!

Date of stay: March 2020

We look forward to our next visit

We look forward to our next visit

Good imaginative food, well presented and tasty. Upgraded room (not requested) very clean with excellent view over golf. Course

Date of stay: February 2020

A perfect stay

A perfect stay

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large comfy and well equipped. COVID details were managed very well. Food was great and the walk down to the river was lovely

Date of stay: February 2020

Fabulous Gourmet Weekend

Fabulous Gourmet Weekend

Well this place is very special to us .. have been coming since early 2000... and many Gourmet weekends where we have been seated with amazing people with whom we have joined year after year and have lost along the way due to death, divorce or whatever .... we have now met new friends .. such a joy and lovely concept of meeting likeminded people
Budock Vean always feels like coming home ... you relax straightaway
This was one of the best Gourmet weekends
The 7 springs wines from South Africa and the explanations were fab ... from the owners
The food was the best ever ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️so delicious... amazing .. chefs fab ...
It was a fabulous weekend and I’m still smiling
Look forward to next year and meeting up with old and new friends
Well done Budock Vean

Date of stay: November 2019

Difficult not to agree with most reviewers!

Difficult not to agree with most reviewers!

We had been advised to visit this hotel many times by many friends and we were not disappointed. Apart from the warm and friendly welcome from the moment you draw up by the main entrance, one is immediately struck by just how many of the guests are serial returners, some of whom have been coming for decades. That is one very significant testament.
Our superior room had been refurbished recently and most tastefully with a lovely view out over the conservatory, terrace and finishing hole on the golf course. A minor issue with the shower drain was tackled and resolved within minutes of being reported by the ever smiling Terry.
Rather than just repeating what many other reviewers have said so eloquently, suffice it to say that we were deeply impressed by the excellent, attentive and knowledgeable dining room staff who were never far from our side. The full English breakfast was quite the most challenging plate I have ever undertaken. It was all delicious as was every course from the extensive menus at every mealtime.
We have to single out Kas who must be fitted with some kind of ‘glass nearly empty’ warning device because no matter how many diners were present, he never allowed us to reach for the bottle. Tina, Lana and Charlotte made we first timers feel highly valued and very much at home and it was uplifting to note the delightful way in which Martin, the owner, made a point of visiting every table at least once daily.
We liked the stated dress code for dinner, but it was disappointing to see that some of the male guests clearly had no intention of abiding by the jacket rule.
The swimming pool is large and heated to a pleasant temperature as is the hot tub outside but the latter would benefit from some kind of step/ladder to assist the less mobile to enter and exit.
The 9 hole golf course was beautifully presented and every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful.
Our one and only regret is that we didn’t find this lovely haven many years ago, but we will now join the serial returners!

Date of stay: May 2019

See all reviews

See all reviews